Complete list of 2024 DGA Awards winners – The Hollywood Reporter

The Directors Guild of America is handing out its annual film and television awards.

Judd Apatow will host the 2024 DGA Awards, marking his fifth time as master of ceremonies, from the Beverly Hilton in Los Angeles.

This year’s nominees for the top prize for outstanding directorial achievement in a theatrical feature film are Greta Gerwig (Barbie), Yorgos Lanthimos (poor things), Christopher Nolan (oppenheimer), Alexander Payne (The remains) and Martin Scorsese (Flower Moon Killers).

Last year, Daniel Scheinert and Daniel Kwan won first prize for Everything everywhere and at the same timebefore winning the award for best director at the 2023 Oscars.

Lanthimos, Nolan and Scorsese are nominated this year for the Oscar for best director, along with Jonathan Glazer (The area of ​​interest) and Justine Triet (Anatomy of a fall).

Notably, Gerwig and Payne were not nominated for best director at the 2024 Oscars, and Gerwig’s snub in this category became a major topic of conversation after this year’s Oscar nominations were announced.

In the first-time film director category, named after former DGA president Michael Apted, the nominees are Cord Jefferson (American fiction), Manuela Martelli (chile’76), Noora Niasari (Shayda), A.V. Rockwell (thousand and one) and Celine Song (Past Lives).

In the television categories, Succession dominated the drama series nominees, taking four out of five spots, with The last of us also earning a nod. The comedy series category has two nominations each for Bear and Ted Lasso with Bill Hader scoring the final go-ahead for Barry. In the television movies and limited series category, chemistry lessons got three nods, with All the light we can’t see and Daisy Jones & The Six complete the nominees.

The DGA nominees in the documentary category are Moses Bwayo and Christopher Sharp (Bobi Wine: the people’s president), Mstyslav Chernov (20 days in Mariupol), Madeleine Gavin (Beyond utopia), Davis Guggenheim (Frame: A Michael J. Fox film) and D. Smith (kokomo city).

The Directors Guild will also honor David Nutter with the Lifetime Achievement Award in Television, Janet G. Knutsen with the Frank Capra Achievement Award and Gary Natoli with the Franklin J. Schaffner Achievement Award.

Below is a complete list of nominees for the 76th DGA Awards. Winners will be noted as they are announced live. Please update to get the latest.

Outstanding Achievement as a Director in a Theatrical Feature Film

Greta Gerwig, Barbie
Yorgos Lanthimos, poor things
Christopher Nolan oppenheimer
Alexander Payne, The remains
Martin Scorsese, Flower Moon Killers

Michael won the award for outstanding achievement as a director in a debut feature film

jefferson cord, American fiction
Manuela Martelli, chile’76
Noora Niasari, Shayda
A. V. Rockwell, thousand and one
celine song, Past Lives

Outstanding Achievement as a Director in a Drama Series

Pedro Hoar, The last of us“A long long time”
Becky Martin, Succession“Rehearsal”
Marcos Mylod, Succession“Connor’s Wedding”
Andrij Parekh, Succession“The United States decides”
Robert Pulcini and Shari Springer Berman, Succession“Rear party”

Outstanding Achievement as a Director in a Comedy Series

Erica Dunton Ted Lasso“La Locker Room Aux Folles”
Bill Hader, Barry“Wow”
Declan Lowney Ted Lasso“See you later”
Christopher Storer, Bear“Fish”
Ramy Youssef, Bear“Honeydew”

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Television Movies and Limited Series

Shawn Levy All the light we can’t see
Tara Miele, chemistry lessons“Introduction to Chemistry”
Millicent Shelton chemistry lessons“Poirot”
Sara Adina Smith, chemistry lessons“Her and him”
Nzingha Stewart, Daisy Jones and the Six“Track 10: Rock ‘n’ Roll Suicide”

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Variety/Talk/News/Sports – Regular Programming

Paul G. Casey, Real Time with Bill Maher“Episode 2117”
Jim Hoskinson, The last show with Stephen Colbert“Jan. December 19, 2023: Representative Adam Kinzinger; Meet Me at the Altar; Special Appearance by Harvey Guillén”
Michael Mancini and Liz Patrick, Saturday night live“Pedro Pascal/Coldplay”
David Paul Meyer The Daily Show with Trevor Noah“Singer Charley Crockett performs “Name on a Billboard” and talks about the new album with Jordan Klepper.”
Pablo Pennolino, Last Week Tonight with John Oliver“Episode 1018: Dollar Stores

Outstanding Achievement as Director in Variety/Talk/News/Sports – Specials

Joel Gallen, Chris Rock: selective outrage
Stan Lathan, Dave Chappelle: The Dreamer
Linda Mendoza, Wanda Sykes: I’m an entertainer
Paul Miller, Carol Burnett: 90 years of laughter + love
Glenn Weiss, The 95th Annual Academy Awards

Outstanding Achievement as a Director in Reality Programs

Niharika Desai Rainn Wilson and the geography of bliss“Happiness is a bottle of cod liver oil.”
Ken Fuchs, The golden bachelor“Premiere”
Joseph Guidry and Alexandra Lipsitz, Greenlight Project: a new generation“PGL versus gray matter problem”
rich kim, Lego Masters“Is it brick?”
Patrick McManus, american ninja warrior“End of season 15”

Outstanding achievement as a director in children’s programs

James Bobin, Percy Jackson and the Olympians“I accidentally vaporized my pre-algebra teacher.”
Destin Daniel Cretton, American born Chinese“What boy are you?”
Rob Letterman Goosebumps“Say cheese and die”
Amy Schatz, Stand Up & Shout: Songs from a Philadelphia High School
Thai Dinh, American born Chinese“A monkey in search”

Outstanding Achievement as Director in Commercials

Martin of Thurah (period films)
fair exchangeLevi’s 501 Jeans – Droga5
Legends never dieLevi’s 501 Jeans, Droga5

Seb Edwards (Park Photos)
RumbleBattle of the baddest – Droga5

Kim Gehrig (Something like that)
Run this cityApple Music – Apple (direct customer)
TravelersExpedia – Wieden & Kennedy

Craig Gillespie (MJZ)
Waiting roomApple iPhone – TBWA/Multimedia Arts Lab

Andreas Nilsson (Biscuit Filmworks)
RIP LeonApple iPhone – Apple (direct customer)
Action modeApple iPhone14 – Apple (direct customer)
choose happyLes Mills Fitness – Nice and Frank, San Francisco
Wait until you see thisSnapchat – Snapchat (direct customer)

Outstanding Achievement as a Documentary Director

Moisés Bwayo and Christopher Sharp, Bobi Wine: the people’s president
Mstyslav Chernov, 20 days in Mariupol
Madeleine Gavin, Beyond utopia
Davis Guggenheim, Frame: A Michael J. Fox film
D. Smith, kokomo city

Leave a Comment