Purple Cap IPL 2024: Khaleel Ahmed maintains fifth position after DC’s massive loss to KKR | Cricket | Top Vip News


IPL 2024 Purple Cap: Delhi Capitals pacer Khaleel Ahmed maintained his top-five position in the Purple Cap race despite his team’s tough loss against Kolkata Knight Riders on Wednesday, in Vizag. Khaleel scored in the 18th over of the first innings, removing KKR captain Shreyas Iyer for 18 off 11 balls. He sent a short ball, offside, which Iyer ended up finishing in front of the middle to catch it.

Delhi Capitals’ Khaleel Ahmed is ranked fifth in the Purple Cap race. (AP)

In the Purple Cap race, Mustafizur Rahman is on top with seven wickets in three games, and is closely followed by Mayank Yadav (six wickets) in second position. Rajasthan Royals spinner Yuzvendra Chahal is third with six wickets, GT pacer Mohit Sharma (6) is fourth and Khaleel (6) is fifth.

Hindustan Times – Your fastest source for breaking news! Read now.

Despite their wicket, DC and Khaleel were in poor form with the ball in the first innings. Speaking after the match, DC captain Rishabh Pant said: “We were all over the place (with the ball), we could have done better, and I think it’s one of those days. As a batting unit, we talk about going hard ( after the goal) and that’s how we approach these games because it’s better to do everything you can to try to reach the total than not to chase it.

Purple Cap Legacy

Many fans probably consider the Purple Cap in IPL to be bigger than the Orange Cap. It is more difficult for players to compete against hitters in a format where the pitches favor the latter. In the history of the tournament, Bhuvneshwar Kumar is the only cricketer to have won the award consecutively. Meanwhile, Harshal Patel and Dwayne Bravo shared the record for most wickets in a single edition of IPL. The Indian player did it in 2021 and Bravo achieved it in 2013.

Meanwhile, the inaugural season’s Purple Cap was won by Pakistan’s Sohail Tanvir, with 22 wickets. Meanwhile, the next season the tournament moved to South Africa and RP Singh improved Tanvir’s tally with 23 wickets. Pragyan Ojha was the second Indian to win the Purple Cap, he achieved it in 2010 with 21 dismissals. Lasith Malinga stole the show in 2011 with 28 wickets, followed by South Africa’s Morne Morkel (25) in 2012. India’s Mohit Sharma claimed him in 2014 with 23 wickets, and Bravo did it once again in 2015.

Stay updated with the latest Cricket news, IPL live scores and get exclusive information with DC vs KKR live score, IPL 2024 schedule, match highlights and more. Explore a complete Cricket schedule, track the race for Purple Cap and Orange Cap in IPL 2024, check Virat Kohli’s performance and stay ahead with all cricket-related updates on Hindustan website and app Times.

Leave a Comment